Monday, August 17, 2009

Award Watch List: Tebow For Manning

2008 Manning Award winner Tim Tebow has, predictably, made the award's watch list in 2009.

The Manning Award goes to the best QB in the nation -- like about a half-dozen others -- but it is unique in one important way:

The Manning is the only award voted on and given out AFTER the season is over -- bowls included. That means that the award takes things like, say, the national title game into consideration.

If the Heisman had been awarded after the national-title last year, who do you think would have won?

It isn't great for logistics -- and most of the other awards in sports account only for regular-season performance, ignoring the postseason -- but I like it as a differentiator.

No comments:

Post a Comment